Thursday, 22 August 2013

Diana, Princess of Wales

Diana, Princess of Wales was the first wife of Charles, Prince of Wales, the eldest child and heir apparent of Queen Elizabeth II. She was born into a noble English family with royal ancestry as the Honorable Diana Spencer. She was the 4th child of John Spencer, Viscount Althorp, and his first wife, the Honorable Frances Roche, daughter of the 4th Baron Fermoy. Diana became Lady Diana Spencer when her father took over the title of Earl Spencer in 1975. She became a public image with the declaration of her engagement.

Her marriage to the Prince of Wales on 29 July 1981 was held at St Paul's Cathedral and seen by worldwide television viewers of over 750 million. While married she bore the titles Princess of Wales, Duchess of Cornwall, Duchess of Rothesay, Countess of Chester and Baroness of Renfrew. The marriage produced two sons, the princes William and Harry who were correspondingly second and third in the line of succession to the British throne throughout her lifetime.

Diana continued to be the object of worldwide media scrutiny during and after her wedding, which ended in divorce on 28 August 1996. If the Prince of Wales had ascended the throne during their marriage, Diana would have become queen consort. Media attention and public mourning were significant following her demise in a car crash in Paris on 31 August 1997.